Sophomore Adrija Bhattacharjee, former SA Minority Student Affairs Liaison, will be next year’s SA President.

She and running mate sophomore Sybilla Moore garnered 689 votes, defeating the next-highest opposing ticket — junior Boris Sorokin and first-year Isabel Edelstein — by 421 votes. In comparison, the Sorokin/Edelstein ticket beat out the last-place candidates — the fifth ticket, composed of sophomores Cole Senecal and Michael Hardy — by only 162 votes.

The preliminary election results were posted on SA’s website on April 8 as unofficial results after being delayed as a result of a CCC shutdown. There has also been a student-submitted ACJC appeal partially concerning elections that will go to a hearing on Friday, April 15.

In a statement posted by Bhattacharjee and Moore to their joint campaign Instagram account, both noted their gratitude to the student body for electing them to the position, saying, “This is only just the beginning, YellowJackets.”

Also part of that statement was a push for student engagement with SA affairs. “Feel free to reach out to either one of us directly with any questions, comments, or concerns that you may have. As we’ve stated throughout our campaign, students should always come before structures, and we will make sure that this becomes a standard in SA.”

Both the Sorokin/Edelstein ticket and the Bhattacharjee/Moore ticket focused on promoting student inclusivity via campus changes, such as prioritizing student representation and access to resources and symbols of diversity. 

In addition, many of the platforms pushed for transparency, with the Singh/Cosentino ticket having it as the focal point of their goals with the presidency. However, Bhattacharjee/Moore’s platform stood out from others due to their acknowledgement that as students currently within SA, they “recognize and understand [students’] hesitancy to trust SA.” As a result, their campaign priorities were to “[eliminate] the bureaucracy and elitism that comes with SA.”

Senate and Class Council elections occurred over the same period of time, with Moore being re-elected to their 2024 Class Council position. First-years Sage Arnold and Finn Abbey, who also ran on a presidential ticket, secured spots in both the Senate and 2025 Class Council. The following students were also elected:

SA Senate (class year-specific)

  • Junior Ezra Kruger (184 votes)
  • Junior Falisha Hola (171 votes)
  • Junior Daniel Kurtz (123 votes)
  • Sophomore Zachary Sussman (324 votes)
  • Sophomore William Bothe (241 votes)
  • Sophomore Ruchita Makhun (213 votes)
  • First-year Kate Hidalgo (322 votes)
  • First-year Charles Ndlovu (300 votes)
  • First-year Olga Yuvchenko (241 votes)

Senate at large

  • First-year Sage Arnold (220 votes)
  • First-year Finn Abbey (185 votes)
  • Sophomore Annie Chin (174 votes)
  • First-year Daniel Pyskaty (169 votes)
  • First-year Navya Bhagat (163 votes)

2023 Class Council

  • Imaan Salimi (133 votes)
  • Alex Fegler (83 votes)
  • Isabelle Miranda (81 votes)
  • Elisa Stefani (77 votes)
  • Lindsey Michaud (69 votes)
  • Falisha Hola (67 votes)
  • Isabelle Gary (60 votes)
  • David Alexander (58 votes)

2024 Class Council

  • Sybilla Moore (179 votes)
  • Giovanni Correa-Quiñones (126 votes)
  • Zachary Sussman (122 votes)
  • Emily Chan (114 votes)
  • William Bothe (112 votes)
  • Timothy Lai (111 votes)
  • Alyssa Spence (100 votes)
  • Jenny Pang (67 votes)

2025 Class Council

  • Kate Hidalgo (204 votes)
  • Jennasea Licata (131 votes)
  • Sage Arnold (121 votes)
  • Matthew Tierney (108 votes)
  • Finn Abbey (101 votes)
  • Navya Bhagat (89 votes)
  • Ryan Ko (87 votes)
  • Andrew Zhou (86 votes)
Tagged: SA Elections

Rivera’s “Marisol” Remains Frighteningly Relevant Today 

Todd Theatre’s newest production, “Marisol” — which was as disturbing as it was disorienting — is not for the faint of heart. But while some moments were difficult to watch, the surrealist show was a worthwhile, deeply moving, and all-encompassing theatrical experience.

STEM vs. humanities: The ongoing, counterproductive debate

Maybe we’ve all been wasting our time debating the relative worth of the two fields, and instead accidentally devaluing both by overlooking their individual and combined merits.

An inside look at Louvre Performance Ensemble

In preparation for their spring showcase, the Campus Times got to talk to some of the performers in Louvre about their experiences in the group.