Contribute

The Campus Times provides undergraduates opportunities to gain journalism, digital media, and design experience while covering issues relevant to the UR community.

Students can write, take photos, make videos, copyedit, draw, design, and help manage campustimes.org. No prior experience is necessary and no long-term commitment is required.

Many students find the experience of working on the CT provides them with valuable skills helpful to securing future employment in mass media after graduation.

Copy Editing

Copy editors check articles for spelling, grammatical, and factual errors before they’re published. Many students are introduced to the CT‘s writing process through copy editing, and it provides good experience for those interested in applying for editor positions in the future.

Most copyediting takes places on Sundays before each issue is published. If you’d like to help, email our Copy Chief at crichter@u.rochester.edu.

Writing

CT breaks up its content into six sections are six sections: News, Opinions, Features, Humor, Culture, and Sports.

Students start off as contributing writers, but can become a section Staff Writer after meeting their respective section’s article quota. Staff Writers are invited to attend our weekly “budget” meetings on Sundays, where we discuss story ideas, logistics, and upcoming CT events.

To start writing, you may submit article suggestions to section editors via email, or ask to be placed on a section’s weekly email list, and volunteer to take story assignments when one interests you. If you are unsure of which section you would like to contribute to, contact the Publisher at publisher@campustimes.org.

News news@campustimes.org
Opinions opinions@campustimes.org
Features features@campustimes.org
Humor humor@campustimes.org
Culture a-e@campustimes.org
Sports sports@campustimes.org

Photography and Video

Photographers can have their work featured in our articles, and a student will be credited first as a contributing photographer, and then as a member of our Photo Staff once they meet a contribution quota. To start taking photos, contact photo@campustimes.org.

CT also has many video projects that aspiring videographers can work on. To start making videos for us, contact photo@campustimes.org.

Drawing/Designing

CT also has illustrators whose work appears with articles in print and online. Graphic designers can also assist the presentation editors in creating graphics that complement articles in print and online. For illustrations, contact illustrator@campustimes.org. For graphic design, contact ebusch@u.rochester.edu.