Contribute

The Campus Times provides undergraduates opportunities to gain journalism, digital media, and design experience while covering issues relevant to the University of Rochester community.

Students can write, photograph, copyedit, draw, design, and help manage campustimes.org. No prior experience is necessary and no long-term commitment is required.

Many students find the experience of working on the CT provides them with valuable skills, and helpful in securing future employment in mass media after graduation.

Copy Editing

Copy editors look for spelling, grammatical, and factual errors in articles that are to be published in the Campus Times. Many students are introduced to the CT‘s writing process through copy editing, and provides good experience for those interested in applying for editor positions in the future.

Most copyediting takes places on Wednesday nights before each print issue is published. If you’d like to help, stop by the CT‘s office after 7 p.m.

Writing

There are six sections in the Campus Times to which students can contribute: News, Opinions, Features, Humor, Arts & Entertainment, and Sports.

Students are credited as a contributing writers, but can earn the title of Staff Writer after meeting a three article quota and submitting an application to a section editor.

To start writing, you may submit article suggestions to section editors via their email, or ask to be placed on a section’s weekly “budget” email list, and volunteer to take story assignments when one interests you. If you are unsure of which section you would like to contribute to, contact the Publisher at publisher@campustimes.org.

News news@campustimes.org
Opinions opinions@campustimes.org
Features features@campustimes.org
Humor humor@campustimes.org
Arts & Entertainment a-e@campustimes.org
Sports sports@campustimes.org

Photography

Photographers not on staff are credited in the Campus Times as contributing photographers. As with articles, a student will be credited as a contributing photographer until they submit an application and meet a contribution quota. To start taking photos, contact the photo editor at photo@campustimes.org.

Drawing/Designing

The Campus Times also employs illustrators whose work appears in the print edition and on campustimes.org. Graphic designers can also assist the presentation editors in creating graphics that complement articles in print and online. To contribute, contact the Editor-in-Chief at editor@campustimes.org.